Log in


  • Home
  • News
  • Gov Abbott requests Presidential disaster declaration for 10 Texas counties

Gov Abbott requests Presidential disaster declaration for 10 Texas counties

2 Oct 2020 5:13 PM | Anonymous

On September 30, Governor Abbott requested a Presidential disaster declaration for ten Texas counties to assist in recovery efforts following Hurricane Laura. The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) had previously granted the state's request for a pre-landfall declaration for Hurricane Laura.

The Governor specifically requested Individual Assistance (IA) for individuals and households, crisis counseling, disaster unemployment assistance, disaster case management, disaster legal services, and Small Business Administration (SBA) disaster assistance. 

The Governor also requested Public Assistance (PA) for Debris Removal (Category A), Emergency Protective Measures (Category B), Permanent Work (Categories C-G), and Direct Federal Assistance for the counties of Brazoria, Chambers, Galveston, Hardin, Jasper, Jefferson, Newton, Orange, Sabine, and Shelby. He also requested the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program statewide.

Here is the link to the Governor's letter


About EMAT

The Emergency Management Association of Texas is dedicated to the advancement of the field of emergency management both statewide and nationally. To that end, EMAT engages in an array of efforts to advance a statewide emergency management agenda and to promote the professional growth of the emergency management practitioner.


2502 Pace Bend Road South
Spicewood, TX 78669

Copyright © 2009-2019 Emergency Management Association of Texas ®. All Rights Reserved.
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software