Log in


  • Home
  • News
  • FEMA Changes IA Program Policies

FEMA Changes IA Program Policies

10 Sep 2021 3:40 PM | Anonymous

On September 2, 2021, FEMA implemented three changes to the Individual Assistance (IA) program. These policy changes apply to all disasters declared on or after August 23, 2021. These changes will expand the types of documents to prove ownership/occupancy for homeowners and renters and, if survivors have successfully verified occupancy from a disaster within the past two years, they do not need to do it again. FEMA will now provide limited Other Needs Assistance (ONA) grants to survivors whose homes were not rendered uninhabitable. The agency has also revised its inspection procedures and training to better identify and address disaster-caused mold. Finally, FEMA is amending its current policy to provide assistance to survivors who incur a disaster-related disability to make their damaged home safe and functional. The changes were made to ensure equal access is available to all disaster survivors.

  • Effective date: Monday, August 23, 2021
  • To access the FEMA IA Program and Policy Guide (IAPPG), click here.

About EMAT

The Emergency Management Association of Texas is dedicated to the advancement of the field of emergency management both statewide and nationally. To that end, EMAT engages in an array of efforts to advance a statewide emergency management agenda and to promote the professional growth of the emergency management practitioner.


2502 Pace Bend Road South
Spicewood, TX 78669

Copyright © 2009-2023 Emergency Management Association of Texas ®. All Rights Reserved.
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software