## EMERGENCY MANAGEMENT ASSOCIATION OF TEXAS BOARD OF DIRECTOR'S MEETING MARCH 3, 2015

EMBASSY SUITES HOTEL, SAN MARCOS, TEXAS
MINUTES

President Jeb Lacey, CEM,TEM called to order a meeting of the Board of Directors of the Emergency Management Association of Texas (EMAT) at 5:05 PM on Tuesday, March 3, 2015. Board Members in attendance were Jeb Lacey, CEM, TEM, Shelly Butts, CEM, Jamie Galloway, CEM, TEM, Patrick Repman, Dee Harrison, CEM, TEM, RJ Thomas, Patrice Reisen-Hicks, Brenda Vermillion, CEM, Cindy Mohat, CEM, TEM, Kevin Starbuck, CEM, CPM, Bill Ted Smith, Wendy Smith, Susana Thorne, Francisco Sanchez, Niki Bender, Maria Galvez, and Sharon Nalls, CEM, TEM (via conference call). EMAT members present were Steve Rosa, Rosie Ybarra and Peggy Fonseca. Jim Coles, CAE, EMAT Executive Director, Nancy Davis, Executive Assistant and Sheryl Anderson, EMAT Executive Administrator were also in attendance.

Jeb Lacey, CEM, TEM thanked everyone for attending and stated that the purpose of the Board Meeting was to elect the 2015-2017 officers. The election process would begin with the election of the president and then move through to the election of officers. He stated that anyone can nominate an officer and that if a nominating officer position is contested, each member would get an opportunity to speak.

The board discussed a question raised by a Director relating to the eligibility of officers, referencing specifically the timing of payment of dues. The question was clarified by the Bylaws Committee Chair and the Nominations Committee Chair, and voting proceeded.

After a tallying of votes by anonymous ballot, the following EMAT members were elected to the 2015-2017 EMAT Board:

Jeb Lacey, CEM, TEM – President Kevin Starbuck, CEM, CPM – Vice President Cindy Mohat, CEM, TEM – Secretary Francisco Sanchez – Treasurer Billy Ted Smith – Sergeant at Arms

With there being no further business to discuss, the meeting was adjourned at 5:45 PM.

Respectfully submitted,

Jeb B. Lacey, MPA, CEM, TEM President

James E. Coles, CAE Executive Director