Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Register
Committees- Awards
Share |

EMAT Annual Awards Program


Purpose of the EMAT Annual Awards 

The purpose of the EMAT Annual Awards Program is to recognize the achievements and hard work of the individuals, organizations and jurisdictions that have made exceptional efforts to further the field of emergency management and to ensure a whole community approach to preventing, preparing for, mitigating against, responding to and recovering from disasters.


We are now accepting award nominations for the 2017 Annual EMAT Symposium.  The deadline for submissions is 2-3-2017.

Please click below for information on the types of awards available and the nomination form.

EMAT Awards Nomination Form 2017 (PDF)

EMAT Awards Nomination Form 2017 (Online Form)

The 2015 EMAT Award Winners:

President's Award:  Mariah Armitage, CEM, TEM

Director of Emergency Management and Continuity Planning, The University of Texas at Dallas

The President's Award is the second highest award EMAT gives to honor the person who, in the judgment of the President, is highly instrumental in carrying forward the goals and objectives of the Association.

Lou Harrell Emergency Manager of the Year Award:  Charlie Kelly

City of Galveston Office of Emergency Management 

This award recognizes and honors the member whose comprehensive emergency management program epitomizes the best in Texas emergency management by:

Developing and implementing a highly effective program in the absence of other sophisticated programs;
Developing and implementing a highly effective program in the absence of adequate agency support;
Applying innovative ideas and/or creative techniques that enhance the local emergency management program, or
Managing an extraordinary response effort to a major disaster.


Community Service Award, DPS Region 6:  Susan Culp, DVM

Texas Animal Health Commission

This award recognizes the person who has provided leadership, guidance, facilities, equipment, or support to an Emergency Management Program, a Community, or the profession in the furtherance of mitigation, preparedness, response, or recovery activities.  


Emergency Management Student Award:  Kristie Franks

Texas A&M University 

This award recognizes and honors the students making the greatest contributions to the emergency management profession in Texas during the past year by:

Maintaining high grades in emergency management and related academic courses; and,
Serving in student organizations (e.g. International Emergency Management Student Association, Epsilon Pi Phi, Rho Epsilon Mu, etc.);
Contributing to the knowledge base of emergency management by presenting papers at conferences and publishing in academic and practitioner journals;
Fostering success in local, state, and federal emergency management agencies (or related private and non-profit organizations) through internship participation;
Promoting emergency management knowledge in the community through public awareness campaigns; or
Dedicating time and energy to further the goals of emergency management in various activities and endeavors.  

Outstanding Emergency Management Public Information Award:  Sheppard Air Force Base Office of Emergency Management

This award recognizes and honors PIO activities of local, regional, non-profit or private-sector organizations that increase information and/or awareness of emergency management issues with the general public in Texas by:


Developing a public awareness campaign on an emergency management issue;

Developing and distributing instructional pamphlets dealing with emergency management issues;

Utilizing inventive or creative ways to communicate with the public; or

Providing extraordinary emergency public information during a disaster in Texas. 



Excellence in Emergency Management Award, DPS Region 6:  Bexar County Office of Emergency Management

This award recognizes and honors outstanding emergency management people or organizations developing and implementing an outstanding emergency management project, activity or campaign in Texas during the past year by:

Taking risks that further the emergency management profession;
Helping new emergency managers grow and achieve within the profession;
Implementing an innovative mentoring program for Texas emergency management students;
Achieving change within EMAT or other professional emergency management organizations; or
Inspiring colleges to excel or make the impossible happen for the betterment of the emergency management profession.


The 2015 TEM Certifications and Re-Certification Recipients:

Brandy Ashby-Fisher
Douglas Bass
Lee Bourgoin
Brad Britten
Shelly K. Butts
Alejandro Camacho
Sherri Copeland
W. Kirk Driver
Michael Gaciri
Charles J. Galyean
Al Guarino
Rodrick Jones
Charles Kelly



David Marquez
Michael Megna
Joseph Minshew
Sharon Nalls
Antonio Pena
Michael Penaluna
Fernando Perez
Ray Resendez
Josh Roberts
Robie Robinson
Brenda Vermillion
Cheryl Vital
Randy Whittington



Caroline Egan - Committee Chair
Mark Chadwick
Dee Harrison
Kit Marshall
Brian Murray
Patrick Repman
Rick Woolfolk

Click here to communicate with the Awards Committee

Community Search
Sign In
Sign In securely
Copyright © 2009 Emergency Management Association of Texas ®. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy